跳到主要内容
版本:v2.9 (Preview)

同步

同步允许 Rancher 更新集群值,以便与托管在 AKS、EKS 或 GKE 中的集群对象保持同步。这使得 Rancher 以外的来源能够获取托管集群的状态。这是 UI 中显示的内容。

警告

如果你同时处理来自另一个来源的更新,你可能会不小心覆盖一个来源的状态。如果你在完成一个来源的更新后 5 分钟内处理另一个来源的更新,也可能会发生这种情况。

工作原理

要理解同步是如何工作的,则必须理解 Rancher Cluster 对象上的两个字段:

  1. 集群的 config 对象,位于集群的规范上:

    • 对于 AKS,该字段称为 AKSConfig
    • 对于 EKS,该字段称为 EKSConfig
    • 对于 GKE,该字段称为 GKEConfig
  2. UpstreamSpec 对象

    • 对于 AKS,它位于群集状态的 AKSStatus 字段中。
    • 对于 EKS,它位于集群状态的 EKSStatus 字段中。
    • 对于 GKE,它位于集群状态的 GKEStatus 字段中。

定义这些对象的结构类型可以在它们对应的 operator 项目中找到:

除集群名称、位置(区域或地区)、导入和云凭证引用外,所有字段均可为空。

AKSConfig、EKSConfig 或 GKEConfig 表示所需的状态。零值会被忽略。配置对象中非零的字段可以被认为是“管理的”。在 Rancher 中创建集群时,所有字段都是非零的,因此都是“管理”的。在把一个已存在的集群注册到 Rancher 时,所有可为空字段都是 nil 并且不是“管理”的。一旦 Rancher 更改了这些字段的值,这些字段就会被管理。

UpstreamSpec 代表集群在托管的 Kubernetes 提供商中的情况。它每 5 分钟刷新一次。刷新 UpstreamSpec 后,Rancher 会检查集群是否正在进行更新。如果它正在更新,则不做任何进一步处理。如果它目前没有更新,AKSConfig、EKSConfig 或 GKEConfig 上的任何 "管理" 字段都会被最近更新的 UpstreamSpec 上的相应值覆盖。

有效的期望状态可以被认为是 UpstreamSpec,加上 AKSConfig、EKSConfig 或 GKEConfig 中的所有非零字段。这是 UI 中显示的内容。

如果 Rancher 和另一个来源试图在同一时间或在更新完成后的 5 分钟尝试更新集群,任何管理字段都可能陷入竞争状态。以 EKS 为例,集群可能将 PrivateAccess 作为管理字段。如果 PrivateAccess 为 false,在 11:01 在 EKS 控制台中启用,然后 Rancher 在 11:05 之前更新标签,那么该值很可能被覆盖。如果在集群处理更新时更新了标签,也会发生这种情况。如果集群已注册并且 PrivateAccess 字段为 nil,则不应发生此示例中描述的问题。

Skip to main content
Version: v2.9 (Preview)

Syncing Hosted Clusters

Syncing allows Rancher to update cluster values so that they're up to date with the corresponding cluster object hosted in AKS, EKS or GKE. This enables sources other than Rancher to own a hosted cluster’s state.

danger

You may accidentally overwrite the state from one source if you simultaneously process an update from another source. This may also occur if you process an update from one source within 5 minutes of finishing an update from another source.

How it works

There are two fields on the Rancher Cluster object that must be understood to understand how syncing works:

  1. The config object for the cluster, located on the Spec of the Cluster:

    • For AKS, the field is called AKSConfig
    • For EKS, the field is called EKSConfig
    • For GKE, the field is called GKEConfig
  2. The UpstreamSpec object

    • For AKS, this is located on the AKSStatus field on the Status of the Cluster.
    • For EKS, this is located on the EKSStatus field on the Status of the Cluster.
    • For GKE, this is located on the GKEStatus field on the Status of the Cluster.

The struct types that define these objects can be found in their corresponding operator projects:

All fields are nillable, except for the following: the cluster name, the location (region or zone), Imported, and the cloud credential reference.

The AKSConfig, EKSConfig or GKEConfig represents the desired state. Nil values are ignored. Fields that are non-nil in the config object can be thought of as managed. When a cluster is created in Rancher, all fields are non-nil and therefore managed. When a pre-existing cluster is registered in Rancher all nillable fields are set to nil and aren't managed. Those fields become managed once their value has been changed by Rancher.

UpstreamSpec represents the cluster as it is in the hosted Kubernetes provider. It's refreshed every 5 minutes. After the UpstreamSpec is refreshed, Rancher checks if the cluster has an update in progress. If it's currently updating, nothing further is done. If it is not currently updating, any managed fields on AKSConfig, EKSConfig or GKEConfig are overwritten with their corresponding value from the recently updated UpstreamSpec.

danger

When you import a cluster from a cloud provider into Rancher, UpstreamSpec represents the cluster state and Config is empty. If you then update the imported cluster through the Rancher UI, both UpstreamSpec and Config become non-null. Any further updates to the cluster should be applied through Rancher. This is because there is no safe way to determine if changes originating from UpstreamSpec represent the desired state or just a mismatch with Config. If you update the imported cluster through the cloud provider console after you apply any updates through the Rancher UI, the controller will deploy a rollback and the content of Config will be considered the desired state.

The effective desired state can be thought of as the UpstreamSpec, plus all non-nil fields in the AKSConfig, EKSConfig or GKEConfig. This is what is displayed in the UI.

If Rancher and another source attempt to update a cluster at the same time, or within 5 minutes of an update finishing, any managed fields are likely to get caught in a race condition. To use EKS as an example, a cluster may have PrivateAccess as a managed field. If PrivateAccess is false and then enabled in EKS console at 11:01, and tags are updated from Rancher before 11:05, then the value is likely to be overwritten. This can also occur if tags are updated while the cluster is still processing the update. The issue described in this example shouldn't occur if the cluster is registered and the PrivateAccess fields are nil.